Have UAV will Photo.

After a hiatus of nearly four months, I’m in the air and taking photos again.  I’m happy with the performance of the rebuilt plane and took it out for a test run the week-end.  I am still waiting for the auto-pilot, so I flew it manually.

Nico and I looking up at the plane.

Nico and I looking up at the plane.

It’s flying nice and stable and the camera mount and remote trigger works well.  I took a few hundred photos of the area where I re-maidened it and built up a composite photo from the photos.  Results are a bit rough as a human cannot hope to fly as consistent as an autopilot, but I’m happy that the individual photos look good enough.  Which means that the new nose is at the very least not causing more vibration to reach the camera than the old nose did.

256 megapixel composite was built from the photos.

256 megapixel composite was built from the photos.

The trigger also retracted the lens back to safety both flights, so I am much happier about the safety of the camera than I was with the old setup.

In the mean time, I have acquired a Bixler 2 plane that I plan to use for casual FPV flying and as a trainer for the kids.

One of the photos taken by the plane showing a random bakkie on the road.

One of the photos taken by the plane showing a random bakkie on the road.

They are really sweet planes and very popular as a cheap and no fuss FPV platform.  I will maiden it tomorrow and plan to have it set up and ready for the summit as an extra example of cheaply getting a video platform in the air.  It would not be able to carry the still camera, but it will easily carry the keychain video camera and even a GoPro sized video camera.

I will report back here once I have flown it.

About delabu

I am a software developer, coding mainly in Java and specializing in the GIS field.

Leave a Reply

