More “Aerial Photography”

We spent the (chilly) long week-end at the Vaaldam and I took my SPAD FPV plane with – of course.

Unfortunately, I am still waiting for my replacement FPV camera and had to make do with regular “mark 1 eyeball from the ground” RC flying. What I DID take along, however, was the el-cheapo spycam that I use to record videos in the belly of the aircraft.

I moved the camera into the wingtip this time (it’s so light that it doesn’t affect the balance of the aircraft at all) and mounted the wing on two blocks of foam.

This completely eliminated the vibration issues I had previously trying to record video whilst flying.

I took some aerial video of the place we were staying at and created image strips using Microsoft ICE (as previously blogged). I used ESRI’s ArcGIS Desktop software to ortho-rectify the photo using Microsoft’s Bing maps as reference (Bing is Microsoft’s version of Google maps, and roughly the same quality).

I was quite pleased with the result! Even though the resolution of the camera is really bad (640 x 480), it was really hard to get good stable video due to the wind and because I had to fly the plane standing outside the property to the South (making it very hard to judge the attitude of the plane) the result was better than what I expected.

Here is a comparative image, comparing to the left, my photo overlaid onto Bing versus Bing alone on the right – Notice the difference in the water level between the two images (click the images for full-resolution images).

My photo overlaid on Bing left vs Bing alone right.

and here is the same area, zoomed in on the North:

My photo to the left compared to Bing imagery to the right.

About delabu

I am a software developer, coding mainly in Java and specializing in the GIS field.

Leave a Reply

