Belly Camera

It’s been quiet lately while I am waiting for shipped equipment to arrive. In the mean time, I have some boring belly camera footage to share with everyone.

Some short snippets from Meerkat airfield. You can see the effect that the vibration has on the camera – I should really work on getting the motor better balanced.

Then there are some snippets from flying at Pretoria Radio Flyers. Having seen the first footage, I realized that with the current setup, I will only get good video with the motor off.

Its hard to get good down camera footage when flying “normally” and I’m sure it will be much easier to get “relevant” footage if the plane is flown in first person mode. Then it can be kept more stable during the glide and kept better aligned.

Next I’ll try to at least get long enough straight and level glides to make some image strips.

In my defense, this week-end was quite windy and it was hard to get those long stable glides!

I will upload the video later tonight and update this post with it.

First an image built using Microsoft’s Image Composition Editor.  This amazing program takes a video, and generate a stitched image from that, and it’s free too!  (Go here for more details).

About delabu

I am a software developer, coding mainly in Java and specializing in the GIS field.

Leave a Reply

